Annemarie Quinn

After last night's gig at the Brudenell, this evening we were up in Newlands Valley for the Party In The Valley music festival, which is arranged by the Minx's brother and set in the grounds of the pub that he runs. 

Earlier in the afternoon, I'd run around Derwent Water, which, including a couple of unintended diversions, clocked in at eleven miles, so I was in exactly the right frame of mind for food, drink and music. 

It's only a baby festival - I think this is the third year - but the choice of bands was very good. The Minx particularly liked The Ends from Canvey Island and both The Tribe and Pikey Beats were good live turns.

My favourite act, though, was Annemarie Quinn, which was surprising as any act that is just vocals and an acoustic guitar is usually enough to send me running for the hills. But her voice and guitar playing were great, as was her choice of songs and, surprisingly, I thought her own material was better than the covers that she chose. 

It turns out that she's local girl on the way to making good. She's been signed up by someone odd, like Jamie Oliver or similar.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.