Angel of the North

I went over to Newcastle today for a meeting. After consulting a friend who regularly commutes between here and there as to the most pleasant route, I headed up through Sedbergh and Kirkby Stephen to the A66 and then headed east to the A1. It was the most beautiful day for driving; clear and bright but there was also a gorgeous autumnal chill in the air.

My best route travel directions included instructions to turn off when I reached the Angel of the North, which I did, and I was delighted to see that there is a car park where you can park up and get out to take a look at this stunning piece of public art. With my jacket pulled around me, I could have stood there for ages just looking up at its beauty.

As it was, I had a meeting to get to but I'd like to go back with the Minx and the kids next year for a picnic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.