IrvingFlashman

By IrvingFlashman

I hate goodbyes

Today I drove home for the weekend to say goodbye to my baby brother before he leaves for Canada for 8 months. That is an impossibly long time and I already can't wait for him to come home.

Before leaving for home I went to see the boy before leaving to say goodbye for the weekend. He gave me a big hug, slow danced with me and sang me medley of songs. The medley did include Danger Zone and Britney Spears, but it was wonderfully romantic no less. I later found a pretty shell and a love note in my purse which I had left at his the night before.
I then had to say goodbye to the girlies for the longest time we've been apart since the start of our lovely home. I also had to leave Lydia's sisters behind who I am so eager to get to know.
It was wonderful coming home and seeing my lovely mum - like I've never been away. And getting huge hugs from my Dad and Brother - like I've been away forever (they tend to forget when I am actually around).
Took my little brother for dinner and actually had a really lovely, special time. It is always awkward because people assume we are on a date because we have 0 family resemblance. We discussed my gap year and his upcoming one. We actually had honest conversations, which very rarely take place between us.
I am going to miss him so so much (holds in tears) and Christmas Day without my buddy is going to be horrible. But I also can't wait for the day he comes home, hopefully a more mature, experienced man, ready to go to university and be brilliant. I love my family very much and never realise how much I miss them until I am home again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.