Flat

It was at the end of April when I stated training for the marathon, which has pretty much consisted solely of steadily upping the distance of my Sunday run from thirteen miles up to twenty-two miles, which I managed last week.

This week, though, I'm in 'the taper', so it was back to running a half-marathon. Compared with the longer runs, it seemed quite quick; down to Devil's Bridge, up to the road that runs across above Casterton and out to Bardon Beck, then back along the far side, under the Manor House, and back through Casterton to Kirkby Lonsdale.

It was very satisfying to find it so easy: no aches or pains, no real tiredness. I was pleased with myself and, after four and a half months of training, I felt like I'd earned the fitness. Indeed, I felt no urge to nap when I got back and I recorded the radio show before setting off for Lincoln with Milly and her friend, Guy. 

It's been lovely having Milly here over the summer but the new university term beckons and, frankly, she's itching to get back. But first she has a few days at her mum's, near Sleaford, so that was our destination, today. It's quite a hike but Milly was in a chatty mood and DJ'd us all the way down using music from my iPad played through the car stereo. 

Milly's mum, my first wife, was kind enough to invite me to stay for dinner but I was keen to get back to the Minx and set off after we'd unpacked the car and I'd been given a quick tour of the garden. Blimey but it's flat down there! I stopped and took this shot shortly after setting off home. 

****
-13.0 kgs
0 words
Reading: So, after yesterday's dismissal of Anne Tyler, a lot of Instagram friends told me that 'Vinegar Girl' is her only dud - a commissioned re-write of 'The Taming Of The Shrew' apparently - and recommended some others to read. However, I have yet to crack on with that. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.