fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Paddington

I like railway stations, particularly the splendid big covered ones, like Kings Cross, Liverpool Street and, this one, Paddington. For me, they are like big churches. Or perhaps I mean that they feel the same as churches; those imposing, cavernous spaces.

And I love the way the light comes through the ceiling here. As I first went down onto the platform, the light was coming down in shafts, like that scene at Grand Central Station in K-PAX. It served to emphasise the feeling of being a special place.

And that was about as mystical as my day got, although I had the rare treat of bumping into one of my best friends on the platform at Oxenholme, this morning, so I had an enjoyable journey south with him :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.