Chilli

Last Friday a friend of mine popped 'round for coffee and bought me this chilli plant as a gift. (Coincidentally, the Minx also bought me a chilli plant for my porch a while back but I over-watered it. If plants had hazard warnings, I would feature on one.)

A couple of the chillies were already red, so I decided to use them today when I cooked for me, Dan and Milly. I had no idea how hot they'd be but I thought they'd add a bit of flavour, so I chopped them up and put them in to the pot.

Regular chilli users will be familiar with the hazard of cutting them up and then, a little later on, rubbing your eyes or, worse, going to the loo. On this occasion, I wiped my mouth and almost immediately felt a pleasant burn on my lips, so I decided not to put any other chillies into the recipe.

I need to practice with these, though, because, actually, once cooked, they weren't that strong, so Dan was slightly disappointed with the chilli, although I think Milly was mildly relieved.

While we're on the subject, does anyone have any tips on the best way to wash your hands after cutting chilli?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.