fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Aira

Going back around thirty years to the time of my first marriage, my then wife had a friend called Be, and she was the first person I ever knew to have a headset for her 'phone. 

I can remember her extolling the virtues of the device, saying how she could chat to people while she was doing the ironing or whatever. However, what interest I had in obtaining one was frustrated when I saw the cost. (Be was very well off.)

Of course, over the years the tech has become cheap to the point of being routine, but rather than making calls while I'm doing a routine task, I will often find a chore to do to keep myself occupied while I'm on a call.

It might be unloading the dishwasher or putting the washing in, or sometime I might go for a walk if I'm involved in a longer discussion.

Today I kept myself busy by assembling this unit to house my collection of Aira compact synthesisers. It was a little bit fiddly but the fact I was on the 'phone stoped me from giving vent to my frustrations :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.