Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Hollyhocks and Prickly Pears

Slept well last night the temperature is a very comfortable 25° or so during the day, not too hot for comfort. We had another lazy day in the hotel today, I swam. We intend venturing out to the market in the nearby town tomorrow.
Transport here is by Dolmus, a minibus service , rather than coach sized buses and it's very efficient. You'd be amazed how many people you can get in a minibus, including about 10 standing when it's busy! You get on the bus, tell the driver where you are going and pass your fare forward and the change comes back.
We discovered a few years ago you can buy a local bus card valid in this state/region of Turkey. The fare then is around 20% less than cash. I took ours down to local shop today to top it up by 100 lire (£2.50) only to find it still had 28lire on it from this time last year which is just added on.
There's a lot of these prickly pears growing in this region and almost as many wild hollyhocks in a variety of colours. They were one of my mother's favourite garden plants, and like many other plants in our garden I tried eating the flowers to see how they tasted. Don't ask me why, I've no idea how I survived given some of the things I tasted, these were quite tasty - a little powdery and gentle in taste if I remember correctly!
Time for bed now ready for further adventures tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.