NightOwl45

By NightOwl45

Tough Tuesday, Paced Walking and World Asthma Day

Today has been tough. I’m in agony with my fibromyalgia and joint hypermobility syndrome. I’ve also overstretched/strained my right shoulder.

I think I did it last Friday attempting to readjust a broken clasp bracket in my disabled shower. Thankfully, it was repaired by the plumber who only took just over an hour to arrive after I reported the issue and did a brilliant job.

I have had two rest days where I did very little and rested as much as possible, no paced walking for my Amy Winehouse Foundation fundraiser and caught up with a couple of bits of life admin. 

Fighting through chronic pain and fatigue feels like an unrelenting battle. I try to pull myself through but don’t always feels like I win.

I took advantage of the glorious weather here today to enjoy some sunshine and fresh air and got a good amount of steps in for the paced walking fundraiser. 

I took a lot of rest breaks on benches and had lunch and a rest about 3pm at home with a much needed sandwich and coffee. I think the pacing helped but the pain has been relentlessly excruciating. 

I found a woman’s credit card on the ground whilst out on my walk and handed it in and I’m happy to know she will get it back safely. 

She was out walking her dog and hadn’t noticed she had dropped it. My good deed for the day!

I’m speaking to my GP later this week. The last appointment I had with her (on the telephone) was not a positive experience and certainly not the review I was meant to have.

Today’s Blip is of a beautiful allotment I spotted whilst out on the second leg of my paced walking this evening. My steps are in an extra.

Today is World Asthma Day. I’ve had chronic asthma since I was fourteen, having been a chesty child since the age of three.

Thanks to the NHS, I am still alive. I have had multiple chest infections, pleurisy, fluid on my my left lung and Covid as well as three months of Long Covid and I feel incredibly grateful for the care I have received throughout my life.

I manage my asthma with three inhalers, steroid tablets (when necessary), singing and paced exercise. In addition to asthma, I have hayfever and eczema, which often co-exist alongside asthma. 

Sending love to all my fellow asthma warriors and/or your friends and family with this condition. It claimed the life of my Aunt Margaret in 1968, just four days short of her 20th birthday. I feel grateful that the treatments have advanced since those times.

Thank you for all your stars and hearts, I need to play catch up with Blip tonight/tomorrow.

If you would like to support my fundraiser in aid of the Amy Winehouse Foundation, the link is below:

https://gofund.me/2b7615ee

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.