LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Au Revoir

So it’s au revoir to Orkney for the time being  and to do it at the beginning of a fabulous summer’s day is particularly hard. Sunrise was at 5am and the sun shone through the windows from the start. I did entertain the thought of having an early dip in the sea, but sense prevailed.

The 9:35 am flight was on time although there was a bit of  palaver before I embarked. I don’t know what it is about my case that causes the management to take it aside and open it up in my presence. They say it’s a random check but that’s the second consecutive time they’ve done it to me and I heard no other tannoy announcement for anyone else to come forward for case examination. Then there was another palaver as I went through security. Turns out the nice lady with the paddle thing had pushed the wrong button and I think she was convinced I had a hand grenade strapped round by waist. Finally she had help from her colleague to stop  the alarm going off and I was allowed to travel.
Had I been seated on the right hand side of the plane, I might have seen the Selkies dipping in the sea in Stromness but I, on the left hand side, did get a photo of the Old Man as we flew round Hoy.

Daughter #1 met me off the plane and helped with my case. It was so hot in Edinburgh and the crowds were intimidating after the peace of Orkney. 
Still, I’m safely home, have unpacked and successfully foraged for food at the local Sainsbury’s.
 My Porty daughter popped in on her way back from a cycle run and my neighbour has just brought us a huge slice of delicious pavlova with strawberries and blueberries. It’s not all bad being home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.