LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Here Come the Girls

Today I experienced a warm haar. I think that may be an oxymoron. I woke up to a white world where nothing existed past the end of the garden. It says much about my tiredness from lack of sleep the night before that I didn’t hear the Hamnavoe’s fog horn as it left on its crossing to Scrabster at 6:30, but I certainly heard it loud and insistent when it returned at 10am appearing as it did out of the mist like a ghost ship.

Six of us had an ethereal swim at 9am in a sea like a mill pond and totally shrouded in a warm haar. It was just us in our own little world of water and certainly an experience to remember.
As we were ready to depart a running man appeared out of the mist to inquire if one of us was Lady Blipper. The finger was pointed in my direction and I discovered that Tryfan46 had made the effort to come to the slip to meet me. It was just a pity that my carriage awaited and I couldn’t speak to him for longer. However I have given my particulars to Elaine in the wool shop so that we can communicate further.

I started my packing before going for a coffee and getting into a conversation with a lady from Glasgow who comes up to Stromness for about 6 months during the winter months to avoid any tourists. She must have been one unhappy visitor today as the Street was heaving with lost souls from 2 cruise ship docked in Kirkwall and shunted through on buses to Stromness to stravaig the Street. It almost felt like George IV Bridge back home.

Suddenly as if a switch had been turned off at 11am, the haar disappeared and the world was revealed in all its glory. It was even so warm that I had to dispense with my jacket….that’s quite an occasion.

I’ve said my au revoirs and after one more sleep I’ll be winging my way home. It’s been a wonderful fortnight and I have enjoyed every minute of it. My Selkies have made it very special for me, they are all stars. Thank you ladies!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.