fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Monsoon

I have a recurring dream in which there is a street parallel to the main street of Kirkby Lonsdale and this lane is reminiscent of the market lanes on Lantau in the seventies; lots of traders selling handcrafted items, freshly cooked food, cobbling and so on. And every time I revisit this lane in my dream, I think "How did I forget this was here?"

One of the places in Kirkby that no doubt contributes to this dream version of the town is this courtyard, just behind the bakery. And this mezzanine level is where the curry house is tucked away.

This evening, the rain poured down and, combined with warm air and the smell of the Indian food, it was like being abroad, like sitting in a restaurant during a monsoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.