Worship flags

This afternoon, Dan, Abi and I went up to Kendal castle for a picnic. They hadn't been up before, so we had a good look around the ruins and read all of the tourist information panels on the plinths dotted around the castle's interior.

After we'd done that, we ate our picnic and I messed around with my camera and, particularly, the new lens, which seemed to work much better in natural light. We admitted to ourselves that, in the absence of wind and with no kite, we'd pretty much exhausted the joys to be had within the castle walls, so we took a walk around the outer perimeter, following the edge of the moat.

It was while we were doing this that I encountered this lady with whom I struck up a brief conversation. The flags, she told me, are worship flags, belonging to St Thomas's church in Kendal. There wasn't much more to say after that, plus Dan and Abi had disappeared from sight, so I wished her all the best and that was that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.