fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Burneside Hall

About fifteen years ago, I spent a couple of years working at Scottish Provident. It was the only contract I ever had that was close to home and, even then, I was in Edinburgh a couple of days a week.

Twice a week I would do a lunchtime run, starting from the office on Strammongate Bridge. Usually, I would head up the hill towards the Old Greyhound (pub) or out towards Burneside.

Both runs had their pros and cons, and one of the things I liked about the Burneside run was going past Burneside Hall. In those pre-Wikipedia days, I didn't know much about it, nor did anyone I asked, but you can read about it here.

Back then I had a small Lumix camera - this is pre-digital - and I used to take a photo a day and then have to wait to see them when the film developed. And then they'd go in a box, me thinking that one day I'd get them out and frame some. If only I could remember where they all are!

I much prefer the situation now when I can take loads of photos, some for Instagram and some to review later on so that I can pick one to go here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.