fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Motel

The two chaps in this picture are friends of mine. I've known Bob (on the right) for, oh God, twenty-eight years, and it's through him that I met the other chap, Jon Riley.

Bob is aka Rob Gutmann, the creator of many bars and restaurants in Liverpool, including the legendary Korova, a bar and music venue that is mentioned in the same breath as the Cavern and Eric's.

Today I went down to Liverpool to see Bob and to go and see his new bar, Motel. We made an earlyish start in Ye Cracke and spent a couple of hours catching up over some beers before heading off for a curry, thankfully forestalling the effects of drinking on an empty stomach.

I'll spare you all the pub to pub details but later on, having met up with Jon in The Dovey, we eventually ended up in Motel, which I loved. I won't try and describe it; go see it for yourself if you're ever in that neck of the woods. They'll give you a free shooter!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.