Glacial Lagoon

It was so tempting to post another shot of the northern lights for this day, but I thought that wouldn't be fair to the glacial lagoon! I'll have more in my flickr set (so far only has my blips in) when I get round to processing them.

The day started off with a late breakfast due to the excitement of the night before and a slow meander back to the glacial lake as the sun was out and hopefully would give us some nice shots from the beach. We stopped off to take some more pictures of horses for T - he got a cracker which I'm rather jealous of!

After spending some time at the lagoon, we headed back to Vik, stopping at the rather pretty tree I'd spotted in the snow the day before. All the snow had gone by that point - almost wish we'd stopped at the time but it was snowing so heavily it jsut wouldn't have been pleasant getting snowflakes on camera lenses etc. We took a detour to Svartifoss - i wsa too chicken to go down the snowy path to the base - if only I'd taken my crampons I may have been that bit braver!

We raced to get to the beach at Vik to see the stacks at sunset - but were just too late. Next time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.