fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Get up!

It was chilly today and as I sat in our nice, warm office, wearing a large, satisfyingly heavy jumper, I glanced out of the window to see these people canoeing in the Kent.

They looked like they were having fun, circling around one another and chatting and laughing, avoiding the rocks, and occasionally turning to paddle furiously upstream to try and get back up the weir (no one succeeded).

And I think if I'd been amongst them - assuming (optimistically) for a moment that I wouldn't have spent the whole time capsizing - then I think I'd have enjoyed it, too. I can imagine, though, that earlier on, I might have struggled to motivate myself to get changed and to go down to the river, to start messing around in that very cold water.

It's the same with running and swimming. I really struggle sometimes to get myself out but I've never once regretted going for a run or a swim once I'm out, and that includes the times it's started raining heavily when I've been running.

And at this time of year, I find I need to find that same motivation just to get out of bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.