Spider-Man

This is a bit of a purple patch for me and Dan, cinema-wise. A couple of weeks ago we saw 'Winter Soldier', next month it's 'Days of Future Past', but today it's 'The Amazing Spider-Man 2.

It must be over forty years since those Saturday mornings when my dad would walk me and my brother down to the newsagents on Green Lane to buy our Marvel comics. I'd get The Incredible Hulk - which featured my favourite character, Daredevil - and Wol would buy The Amazing Spider-Man. The comics were 4p each.

Even when we were in Hong Kong, we'd still get our fix as every three or four weeks we'd get a parcel from the UK, sent by our nan, containing the recent editions of Hulk and Spider-Man.

Sometime after we came home, the early eighties, I guess, there was the first TV series of Spider-Man. I remember it was the first thing we ever recorded on our new video recorder. It was, as I remember it, a bit disappointing; the lenses in Spidey's mask weren't quite right, nor was the costume.

Dan can have no such complaints. The real-life and CGI blended seamlessly in the film, today. The story was, typically of Marvel, good, and the whole thing was tremendously enjoyable in a comic book kind of way (and I mean that entirely positively). What's more, Dan had read all about and around the film, so he was a great, informative companion both before and afterwards.

I've realised that whenever we go to see a film at the Brewery, I seem to take a picture of the castle afterwards, so here's today's!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.