Big school

Today was Dan's first day at secondary school. I went up to the house, this morning, to check how he was doing and to see him on his way. He was fine and raring to go but, as expected, completely horrified when his mum and I said we'd walk with him to the end of the road :-) However, we did stand on the pavement outside the house waving and calling after him, and that did make him laugh.

Halfway down the road, a car pulled over and one of his friends jumped out, and then the two boys walked to school together, without a backwards glance. If you were to look very carefully at this photo, you could make out their heads, just next to that car in the distance.

I've been a parent since I was twenty-four - half of my life, I've just realised - so I can only really talk about adult life from the perspective of one that has children in it. And I mention that because it alway seems that it's these milestones in my children's lives that trigger nostalgia in me. So, just as Dan walked off, keenly looking forward, I couldn't help looking backwards, back over the last eleven years that suddenly seem to have flown by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.