Derwentwater

Last night we drove up to the Minx's brother's pub, just outside Keswick. It was the start of the two-day, inaccurately titled Oktoberfest. We ate hog roast, drank some wine and, it being clear skied and rather chilly, huddled together while we listened to a rather good 60s/70s cover band.

This morning we were up in time for a mammoth English breakfast before heading to Cockermouth for a tweet up with our online friend Wendy. Once again I was amazed by how accurate an impression you can get of a person from talking to them over time on Twitter; she was lovely.

After that we had a mooch around the town, which is pretty much how I wish Kendal could be; lots of independent shops, hardly any sign of the usual high street brands. We popped into a couple of art shops and scouted 'round the charity shops. I can remember when Jon and I did 7x25, I had to ask the charity shop staff to fetch down the vinyl, which no one wanted any more. Now look!

In the afternoon I ran down from the pub to Derwentwater and then ran all the way 'round. It was more daunting than a typical run of that distance - around ten miles - because as I ran I could see exactly how far I had to go! It was a lovely run, though, and almost completely off road. I just need to lose a few more pounds* so I can get back to my former running speed.

*more than a few.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.