Batty Moss viaduct

I'm just being a smart arse: it was only when I went to check the facts about the Ribblehead Viaduct that I discovered it had this other name. But I was interested to learn about the remnants of the shanty towns that that the construction workers lived in and I might go and have a look around those at some point.

Today, though, we were at the Station Inn, which is just a little way east along the line from the viaduct. We haven't been for a while but I wanted to take Dan and Abi, and Milly and her boyfriend, Evan, out for lunch and I do like it here. The food is good and the pub is, well, pubby.

It was lovely sitting 'round the table with the kids and just chattering about whatever came into our heads. At one point we were talking about one of my other daughters and her boyfriend, and I mentioned about what might happen if they split up. Milly was all over this: "Why would they split up?" "I don't know" I replied. "Maybe he'd be in a 'round the world yachting race and get swept overboard by a freak wave."

To which Abi replied "That's a very Pacific scenario."

Now that's quick thinking, not to mention a great gag, especially from a ten year old.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.