WorldLens

By worldlens

Fishing

I sat on the edge of the pond with my 3 foot fishing pole feeling quite silly. The boys all had their 7 foot or longer long poles, reels, and gear. They had caught probably 8 fish already. I think they handed me the pole to keep me busy, so the foreigner on their fishing trip wouldn't get too bored.

Then all the sudden, I interrupted the peacefulness of the afternoon with squeals and screams as I jumped up, yanking the pole with one hand and pulling on my string with the other hand (because my pole was too short to have a reel), all the while, hoping whatever was on the end of my pole didn't escape. It was putting up quite a fight as I tried to get it out of the water. Finally, I basically dragged it out onto dry ground and my friends grabbed it for me. Admittedly, it wasn't the most graceful fishing act anyone has ever seen, but I know it made the onlookers laugh. Yes, the boys used nets and reeled in their fish quite smoothly, but I was caught off guard. Add on to that, all of the Thai words I knew flew out of my head as soon as this all began, so I was resorting to screeching sounds of excitement.

The cause of all this excitement, turned out to be an alright sized fish, which we fried (along with 12 others) for dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.