"to notice"

By mnaylor

Day 5 of 6 Day of Visit - Not My Mother's Garden

My mother was a strong and extremely physically active woman; she was the one who joined the guys to hike up Mt. Rainier and ski back down to Paradise, not to the peak, but up to where the open slopes separated from high rock fields. My dad?s wife is a city woman, a lawyer like my Dad - and a gardener. The grasses in this photo are some of those she has grown in the backyard. My mother took some pleasure in cleaning up what was natural in any of the outside areas of the home where we lived, but she did not add to it. My mother would have loved this garden, but she would not have planted it.

The photo ? I was interested in the kind of rectangular sections of the grasses and background that became more evident when I took it to a black and white palette. My attraction to the intersection of the in architectural and the natural worlds is a constant draw to my photographic and painter?s eye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.