TucsonJim

By BikerJim

~Empyrean Revelation~

~Polychromatic Eventide~

Titles are very important in the creation of my art. Well, first comes the inspiration, then the art, and then the title. I know I'm leaving out a lot of the in-between stuff, but to make a point I'm being really simplistic. The title of a piece is quite important to me, it is part of my artwork. I've tried things like "Sunset VI" or "Landscape #7", that kind of convention just doesn't do it for me. At the same time I have to be careful not to be to specific either, I don't want to lead the viewers by the hand into interpreting my image, I want them to figure out the artwork for themselves. I think my titles are part of the construction of the image, the last part, the icing on the cake so to speak. It doesn't necessarily make the photograph better, it just adds to the experience.

And for some reason I have been naming my images with two titles, at least here on the Blip. Not sure why I do this, maybe it's to give the viewer some latitude in their understanding of what they are looking at. Or I might be subconsciously wanting them to see what I see, who knows?

In any event, I put a lot of thought into my title work, almost as much as effort as I put into creating my images. Tonight captions were rearranged, replaced, researched, disregarded, reconsidered, transformed, tweaked and suffered much permutation. If some of my titles inspire you to go to the dictionary then you will have followed the path I have walked.

Thanks for clicking into BikerJim's page, see ya!
TucsonJim ;o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.