this luminous life.

By Laura

Girl Afraid.

The Smiths.

I finally figured out how to do a self-portrait with this camera.
This is my first attempt. I brightened it up a bit.
Too lazy to do any other photoshopping.

I took this photo after I had stopped crying
from the shock of falling out of my chair.
I sat down where I thought the chair was,
and it wasn't there. The chair tipped over and I fell.
And my butt and my left arm are sore.
Somehow, I ended up with my head slightly under the bed,
and unaware of it, I tried to get up and hit my head.
I'm not a crybaby; I was already in an upset mood
and slightly hurting myself only shocked me. :(

I'm at the point where I'm starting to become nervous
about post-graduation and 'the future.'
I have no idea what kind of job I want,
(do I want to write? work in television? attempt film? teach?)
I don't like the (lack of) experience I've had in college,
I'm unsure if people will be a factor in my location,
I'm unsure if I want to stay near home
or go away somewhere new, nothing holding me down.
San Francisco? Chicago? Columbus? New York? New Haven?
I really need to start looking soon,
but I have no idea where to start.
And I'm going to start needing answers soon,
so I don't miss out on or lose opportunities,
or end up feeling lost and rushed at the last minute;
and I can start preparing for whatever's ahead.
It's almost February.
Then I have three months.
Three months.
That's it.

Inspired by Jess' entry, I looked for this clock and took a picture. :)
(Hers is a much better picture, though.)

[A year ago today... first guitar blipped. Not mine.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.