The Daily Bun

By pennybun

49 Go back, go back, go back!

Today I went grouse shooting. I'm getting close to my target of 50 birds in 50 blips, and it occurred to me that moorland birds are seriously under-represented, considering I live within walking distance of some of the finest moorland this country has to offer. It was misty and bitterly cold up there, and there was even some ice up on the highest point. Plenty of these red grouse around with their distinctive calls, but capturing them is quite a challenge, especially when it's misty and your fingers are frozen. I got a few fairly distant shots before spotting this guy nestled in the grass. He let me get surprisingly close before getting to his feet and eventually flapping off. I eventually took their advice to "go back" home to warm up and have some lunch. Number 50 tomorrow.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.