Dave Akerman

By daveake

Where Am I?

This is the latest step in my project to send cameras into near space underneath a weather balloon. No point in sending them up if I can't get them back! Hence the need for GPS tracking.

Here I've overlaid a photo of my GPS module (a very old device, taken from a previous project) and the Arduino flight computer, on top of a picture from my PC screen showing my program that decodes the GPS data and displays where the device is. Which, in this case, is just outside on the window ledge! It's comforting to see a speed of 0mph - otherwise I'd be a bit worried!

I'm hoping my balloon will reach slightly over 100,000 feet, but I've scaled the dial on the display to go up to 120,000 feet in case I get my numbers wrong!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.