Day by Day with Otago Lad

By otagolad

Death of Heritage

We were out and about catching up with friends today and on the way we passed the old malt factory and saw this sign. Its so sad this building has been part of the Dunedin landscape for as long as I remember and now seem it is being demolished.
I found it ironic the words that were in the letters of the word Maltexo. There has been so much controversy about the building of the stadium in the area very near this building that I must admit it gave me a wee giggle. I hope that the council money to pay for the stadium didnt come out of the money the council could have used to protect the heritage buildings of Dunedin.

It got me thinking........

We have so many heritage buildings in this country that are not in good shape, if one thing is to be learnt out of the Christchurch earthquake its that we have to protect the heritage of this country for the coming generations not just take it for granted as we do now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.