Orla & Conor

By OrlaConor

Dingle Dangle Scarecrow

We went for a walk around Banton Loch this morning. A pair of swans followed us the whole way round, thinking we had bread for them, but we had forgotten to bring any. Mum showed me moss, and I had some fun throwing stones into the water. I got my gloves all wet and dirty though, so Mum gave me hers. I thought I looked like a scarecrow, so Mum sang Dingle Dangle Scarecrow to me. Here's what happens when we disagree about something!

Banton Loch (or Townhead Reservoir) is the site of the Battle of Kilsyth, fought on 15 August 1645 between the Royalists (led by James Graham, the Earl of Montrose) and the Covenanters (led by William Baillie). The Royalists won, despite the Covenanters having the benefit of occupying the high ground, mainly due to the high command not allowing Baillie to follow his own battle plan. The area was flooded in the 18th century to form a feeder reservoir for the Forth & Clyde canal. Apparently, when the canal was constructed, a fully preserved horse and rider from the time of the Covenanters were recovered from Dullatur bog.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.