Kiwidino

By Kiwidino

Shakedown

Nearly two weeks since Christchurch's big shake. As a senior executive in the company which provides contracting services to the council for the city's water reticulation, facilities management and roading network maintenance, I have been extremely busy with the emergency response work following the earthquake.

I've been doing long hours, without days off, but it's satisfying in that we are making progress restoring essential services. We've got the water back on to most of the city and working hard to get the rest of it up and running.

Hence, this is my first post-quake Blip. I snapped it quickly with my mobile phone out the car window when I was stopped at a red light.

So many, many people are working long and hard and selflessly. It's something good and uplifting in a time of shock and sadness.

I've only had a cursory glance at Blip and I can see there's plenty of images showing the chaos caused by this tragic event. This is just one more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.