The Meldrum Michies

By meldrummichies

Happiness is...

Getting to lick the spoon?

Bananas?

Getting to lick the spoon of a banana cake mixture...

The other day I blipped that bananas are supposed to make you feel happier. In the interests of research we decided to test this one out by making both a banana loaf and banana milkshakes.

I can confirm there was happiness: happiness in baking; happiness in nice smells in the house; happiness in getting an ice cold milkshake in the middle of a decidedly dreich day in the 'shire.

Proof that bananas do make you happy. My friend, Marianne, gave me a wee lend of Nadia Sawalha's cookbook "Stuffed Vine Leaves Saved My Life". Her father was strong in the opinion that food could be restorative to both body and soul. I love cooking and baking and definitely find the peace (relative, of course) in my kitchen is a good place for me to unwind, but I haven't been doing nearly enough pottering of late.

Pottering is good for the soul.

I think that this week I will endeavour to potter more.

Happy pottering blippers - hope you all have a good week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.