Jax and co.

By indusriver

the variety of the gate lock

The novelty of opening and closing gates as we stride along public walk and bridleways will probably never really leave me. Growing up in New Zealand, we tramped through bush or along coasts and gates were not a big part of it.

I am hoping that partly explains why I have always been quite taken with the sheer variety of gate catches that exist! You would think there would be a tried and tested kind that worked and everyone copied but no it seems there is a rather ad hoc approach to these sort of fixings. For ages I have being thinking about taking photos of them just to compare and so finally I did today. I think I also love the way they look so worn and old - like real treasure from long ago.

Took loads of great pictures of the kids today - spoilt for choice (unlike tomorrow when it is desperate Monday for me!) but decided that it is my journal and if it was an old gate lock that took my fancy today then so be it!

Nice isn't it?

isn't it?????????!!!!!!!!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.