Small Blue Ball

By smallblueball

Dunkickin'

Seeing these started a train of Bladerunner thought.

Day 56
14 Mar 11

I want to be on a jetty in some faraway place
where the seawater smell blows on the salt air
along with hot sunshine warming my face
and the scent of cardamom coffee, and the glare
on the water makes me screw up my eyes.
I want to hear prayer calls not cat-calls
and listen to the news in coffee shops
where backgammon clatters, and footfalls
of thirsty farmers fresh from the fields clop
and clap across the cool tiled floors.
I want to see stars in the skies not ?Stars in your eyes?
- although I have hitherto avoided the virus
of reality TV; not for me, the fake squeals of surprise
I imagine that are squeezed from every imagined crisis
That makes for better ratings.
I want to leave footprints on the beach for the tide
to wash away in the waves of the late afternoon;
when the hot winds clatter in the plane trees, and from inside
the darkness the Scops owls doink at the moon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.