Day 7.

Old Town and Yu Yuan Garden.

Last day in town. Decided to head out early to avoid the crowds as these areas are normally very busy on weekends and in the peak tourist season. If that was quiet then I really, really don't want to see busy. In fact I think this was one of the very few images I managed to catch when no-one else was around.

Just about every other image is filled with camera wielding tourists and at one point we even became the focus as one girl jumped on the man and asked that she have her photo taken with him. When she realised that we were "an item" she decided that it would be improper if she didn't get her photo taken with both of us too. A long way from the days when American tourists would ask if they could take my photo in school uniform outside Burn's cottage, but a similar feeling none-the-less. Felt like a curiosity allover again!

Pity it is our last day. Not sure I like the thronging crowds and I really am rubbish at bartering so I don't think I'd survive in the shops for long, but the garden was so lovely. It was a bit like walking through a Chinese painting and it is definitely the kind of place that I'd like to visit again and again. A sanctuary in a forest of buildings.

Thinking it will probably do the image more justice in big.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.