Knowing nothing of Knowles

It was a day of sorting - taking stuff to the recycling centre and to the charity shop. I decided to check out the building at the bottom of my street. It's been empty in all the time that I've lived here and I've discovered through a local forum that it's going to be a pub. But not just any pub... The group that are going to convert it own a brilliant range of pubs in London, many of which are music venues. It's going to be called Knowles so I think they will keep this great mosaic that adorns the doorway. I've tried and failed to find out the history of this place. I wonder what Knowles did all over London?

On other exciting news about my area, some wonderful people have collaborated to put together a monthly event up and down the main street. I'm very enthusiastic about this since, although West Norwood doesn't lack a soul, it does need some cheer and a kick up the rear end. I chatted to a local shopkeeper about the West Norwood Feast, but he was reserved. He thinks people need to feel that they respect the area more so they won't drop litter or gum onto the pavements. Also, the constant throughway of traffic makes it difficult for people to feel like they're in a relaxed, communal atmosphere (like the 'village' that Dulwich has not so very far away). I take his points. Across the way from him are three massive rubbish and recycling bins that do make the place seem unsightly, plus several empty shops, one of which has been empty for several years now. However, I think there are more than enough folk who are fond of this area and want to bring some community spirit and good stuff to high street. Perhaps it will bring some investment into this once-grand corner of London.

I'm looking forward to 3 April, especially since there's a Retro Village setting up at the bottom of my street. I can't resist 2nd-hand goods! Things are looking up.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.