A cracking read.

This is a series I remember from my youth. When I was a young kid I got all the typical boys comics and they were all full of fairly typical boys storys about the brave lads in the war and how glorious it all was. The one strip that really stood out was this one.

It was like no other comic strip I'd read at that age telling the tale of an underage soldier who's firs engagement was the battle of the Somme. Rather than being about how glorious it all was the strip was more about the horror and futility of trench warfare. It was also fairly critical of teh way the upper classes on both sides conducted the war viewing the working classes as expendable cannon fodder in wat they saw a s a big game of chess. The attitude seems to have been that it didn't really matter if a few hundred thousand of the working classes died.

A friend has resently got the four re-prints which have been done so far and was kind enough to lend them to me. I have to say it's just as outstanding today as it was when I first read it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.