walking in the city

By inthecity

The beach is that way

Judah Street & 47th Avenue

San Francisco: day 19
The clouds parted mid-morning after many days of rain. Perfect for my walk to Ocean Beach. I've flown across continent, might as well walk the remaining 47 blocks to the water's edge.

Irving Street took me past many Chinese and Vietnamese restaurants, nail salons and housewares stores. I also walked by a Russian deli and several Kosher markets. After 26th Avenue I dropped south to Judah Street for the Judahlicious Raw Food & Vegan Café. Hope they didn't smell the turkey pastrami on me*. I plumped for a 24oz Rainforest smoothie and got brain-freeze from my first greedy swallow.

I'd just set my drink down on the sidewalk to shoot this badboy (pictured), when some dude wandered by telling me I could visit Flickr for plenty more shots of patina'd old trucks. We chatted for a bit. He politely declined to pose with the vehicle. His aim: to stay off the internet for eternity. That's when he asked if I had an extra dollar, as he'd fallen on rough times.

I was happy for my poncho once I arrived ocean-side. It warmed me while I sat on the soggy dunes to count my countless blessings. I had enough time to get my feet wet (and holy ccccold) before the rain started up again. Refreshed, I picked the sand from between my toes and hopped on the N-Judah tram.

Smile moment: Young guy on the train was chatting on his cell. "I'll call you later, Dad. I love you," he said, and settled into a copy of Philadelphia Noir.

Hope you weekend's been fab.


*which, nevermind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.