Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Home

Reuben clears the track of crayon debris.

Today a husband and wife crew arrived at 830am and upon leaving at 130pm, a staggering number of man hours, my house was spotless. From the feet of stools (I thought only I did that), to baseboards (ditto) and windows, I couldn't help but think, why haven't I done this before, that is, before I sat back, and admired it all. This all happened whilst the boys enjoyed the aquarium and I set about clearing huge piles of my own accumulated mess.

I shan't try to remember which train this is: Callum reels 10, 15 of Thomas and his Friends names off, Reuben is content spelling out new words daily in sign and voice, and Callum will even sit for story time, "more books". My, that's a turn.


PS: Quite a few backblips this week, snapshots really, and always debate whether I should record the moments or leave blanks. I think we all have those debates on whether we'll be judged by snappies, but here goes anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.