Backpack TopherHack

By TopherHack

Disaster Strikes

Strolling down the street this afternoon I was shocked to turn a corner onto this scene of utter devastation.
Smoke was billowing from a recently exploded coffee shop, with bloodied bodies and debris scattered on the road outside.
I pushed past the firefighters, policemen and onlookers to see what had happened, only to be confronted by swarms of cameramen, special effects guys and extras.
Turns out they were filming a TV show, and even using a coffee shop I'd seen them 'building' the day before. I'd commented on how nice it looked, but failed to notice 'San Francisco's Finest Cafe' written on the sign outside - a pretty unusual sign for a cafe in Vancouver.

Turns out acting isn't all glitz and glamour either. I stayed for ages watching the tedium of actors lying on the road covered in blood and crap for ten minutes, then being filmed for five seconds, then waiting on the floor for another ten minutes, then being filmed again for five seconds, etc, etc, etc...

I even went for a run and to the bank, only to return to the exact same scene on my way home.

Side note, the TV show is called 'Heavenly' and they were filming the pilot episode.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.