Census 1911

I only thought about blipping this when we started to fill in our census form for 2011, so it was a bit of a rushed job and I'm sorry it's not a clearer image.

It's a page from the census 100 years ago, filled in by my grandfather William himself, I think. Over on the left you see ages in two columns, left for males, right for females. William ran a pharmacy in a Hampshire village - he and his wife Rose were both 49 years old and had been married for 25 years. Rose had borne six children and they were all still living; the four-year old was my little Mum.

I knew all of this information before I accessed the census; but there was a surprise waiting. My aunt Edith (24 yrs old here) had her occupation listed as "Political Organiser". What was that about? One can surmise possibly the suffragette movement, but I really don't know; she worked in a munitions factory in the war (WWI) and died in the "Spanish" influenza epidemic immediately afterwards.

No pasaran, Auntie Edith!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.