Country File

By marypot

Heather burning

The beautiful weather continues, so I tried to make the most of it today. As my mum babysat my little girl, I went around the farm looking for inspiration. This blipping really is addictive... Anyway, I saw that there were a few fires burning on the surrounding fells, which means the gamekeepers are burning back the heather to encourage its growth in the new season. Because I only have a little happy snappy camera, I couldn't zoom into the smoke in the distance. Instead, I stood on a hill behind the wall and snapped into the sunlight. In the foreground is an old horsebox that has has long since been abandoned and is rusting away. In the middle distance, the buildings you can see belong to our 'next door neighbour'!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.