must try harder

By halfcj

Raindrops keep falling on my head...

The good news, insurance company picked up my baby G4 today, hopefully, to fix or replace. fingers crossed.

Bad news....Yep...it's raining again. Just when you thought it was safe to put your wellies away.

I must confess to being a bit disappointed about tonight's blip. Inspired by seeing some 'droplet' shots in the week and then watching the water pour off our garden umbrella, I thought...I know...time I tried to capture a water droplet. OK, I do have a 70-300mmm telephoto lens with Macro from 200-300, but I was determined to get this handheld with my 18-55 standard Canon lens. Hmmm. Mistake. But once i started, I wasn't going to be beaten!...at least I thought.

It's hard! First of all anticipating the droplet just breaking away from the umbrella as the magnetism of the menisci fails to keep each mass of water together...and of course the shutter speed is so much more fractional than the brain impulse going from eye to brain to finger to shutter. Too late, the droplet has gone. Nature is amazing.

So to anticipating the moment it will drop then firing on continuous shooting. You can bet your bottom dollar that water droplet is keeping it's eye out for that split second to let go, like a cat dashing across lanes of traffic on the motorway, dodging every bullet.

Random firing with eyes closed was the only way to get anything, but even then, either blurred, too noisey, too dark when trying to speed up and the only solution to any kind of shot was shooting on ISO 3200. Noise everywhere!

So...I now look at water droplet shots in a whole new light, a failure, with one instruction ringing in my ears...equipment, use the right lens....must try harder!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.