Appreciation

By Appreciation

The Shopping

The oddest of shopping lists today. Along with the usual fruit and veg sat things like curlers, tan stockings, girls knee high white socks, old fashioned clothes pegs and a rainmate.

I don't know how thoroughly you check the shelves in your local conveniences, but I have to say they don't all stock all of the above. I have spent a vast majority of my time today flitting from one to another in search of these items.

Curlers, I remember as a little girl always wanting to put these in when playing and feeling quite grown up. As for a Rainmate, We got ours from Woolworths at the East End. Adults had plain ones and children often had ones with flowers on them. I hated the things, how embarrassing was it to have your mother pull out your rainmate and plonk it on your head. The rain ran straight off then and right down your back. Vile things. This is the item which eluded me today - but then we don't have Woolworths anymore. I miss that shop (sorry did I say that out loud).

And why am I looking for all this stuff? Props for Higher Drama practical exam next week. My girl is doing two plays, The Steamie and Lovers. Half the time she is speaking in broad Glesgie Patter the other half in a Strong Irish Brogue.

I'm also quite liking this wee Coolpix now. Getting more used to it and trying to stretch myself within its limitations. I wish you could control the shutter or aperture though. But mostly, It's jist rare so an it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.