must try harder

By halfcj

who's fooling who?.....

....ok...you see what I was doing there...probably me and everyone else in blipland!
But hey, it's only April 1st once a year, and everything was going so well....until suddenly, my mobile dies. OMG. Expecting important calls. Is it a trick by my provider?

Online chat, that's the way they all want to deal with customers nowadays. I got "David here, how can I help you today?".
David my a**e! I know they work by a script and strict rules about what they can and cannot say, but you just know they're not English speaking, so why pretend? Don't get me wrong, I am always impressed with people who speak more than one language, who have an extensive vocabulary in two or more tongues. But why pretend to be English when they're clearly not! Their grammar, their inference and their intonation gives them away...even in the written word.

What Englishman says or writes "I am Native from England"? I know in India they refer to their home town as "native"...maybe a clue? Simple questions were completely misinterpreted/misunderstood and answers given that made no sense and bore no relevance. Who are they trying to fool?

I realise it's not the individuals fault. they are doing their job, under instruction. Why do these corporates think it is better to fool us than explain the economies of call centres outside of the UK.

Myself. I prefer the truth.

So, having failed to communicate with online chat, I went into Kingston, got the phone sorted out in 3 minutes, by a human being, face to face, telling me the truth. He was Indian.

The shop was in Bentalls Centre, my blip tonight, although I took many shots, I just could not get the perpendiculars....perpendicular!, which, in the cross-hairs of my focal point, should be !....should they not! Who's the fool now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.