Annie's In Oregon

By anniescottage

Setting Sail

It took a very long time for me to set sail today. Some days, having no agenda and no schedule is so important. Today, the need to get busy and go prepare the Cottage for a delightful returning guest, was great, but my motivation and energy were not. It had occurred to me that I might catch a glimpse of the Tall Ships from the Cottage window upstairs while working, but still, hard to get going.

What a blessing and a thrill, after all my foot dragging and effort to get the wind into my own sails, to be driving along Hwy 101 and see the tall ships, sails fluttering in the wind, heading right toward me. As if perfectly planned, just for me, I glanced to my right and saw an area where I could park in front of the old dock (which is falling apart) and a section of the fence was down. I was not the only local who feels that fences are not necessary to keep grown ups safe...everyone of us who stopped walked right past the fence and as close as we could get to the ships. Some folks walked out to the edge of the old dock. I, on the other hand, am fond of the look of this old wood and prefer it as a foreground. I have posted a couple more shots in the Annie's Cottage FB album.

Thank you so much to my Blip companions for your kind and respectful comments on my remembrance blip yesterday. Our family took some time to remember a pre-born child who was very much loved, given a name, and buried this week. The four lawn daisies represent his four siblings. The wood is petrified and has sparkly crystals all over the surface. It holds special memories for our family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.