through kirnik eyes

By kirnik

Junior Street Musicians

Today I went downtown for a walk.

I met dad at Syntagma square and we decided to go for a cup of coffee near by Athens Cathedral.

On our way back to the Syntagma metro station, walking on Ermou street, we met a couple of young boys, around 12-13 yo, singing in the street. One of them was playing the bouzouki and the other one the accordeon.
They were playing and singing so nice. Greek pop -"laika" in greek, if I can translate it this way- songs. Songs of pain and love.

The best of all is that they were having the "air" of the performance; the feeling; the contact -how to say- with the audience.

I left having a joy but after a while I started wondering. Who left these boys out in the street singing for some coins? Are they going to school? Are they having a home? Are they eating properly? Are they -at least- themselves who will use this money that they were receiving by people? I am sure that somebody else is taking advantage of them.

All of a sudden I thought that their passion from the songs they were singing is coming directly from their heart. Maybe they were not good performers but they were expressing the pain, the reality of their lifes?

You may see more photos here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.