Moments in a minor key

By Dcred

COAL HOLE

The Carrowdore Coal Man

I was born in Ballywalter
And reared in Drumfad
I went up ta Carrowdore
To see what could be had

I tried to get on the forces
And then the polluse force
And now I'm on a coal cart
Cryin ta a horse

Coal coal coal
I, that is what I cry
And if you want a bag or two
Just nod as I go bye

I'll bump them in your bunker
As neatly as I can
And if your wise, you'll patronise
The Carrowdore coal man!

There is a row of old mill workers cottages next door, two up two down terrace type design with what used to be the outside loo and coal shed, now all converted and very tasteful but one or two of the old features are still in place. The blip shows the cast iron covers that were used to hide the shoot that led down to the coal cellar, I vaguely remember the coal man coming to my gran's house many moons ago, a sight you hardly see today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.