Quiet Blipper

By Islandcat

My Dad

This morning "dawned" overcast and rainy. A Sunday morning to hunker down. After breakfast, my parents and one of my 3 brothers (who lives a couple of hours away) with his wife (who are also visiting for the weekend) watched the weather grow more fierce by the minute from the protection of a very cozy living room. (I had headed out ahead of the storm for a long run and got caught on my return. Looked a bit like a drowned rat by the time I got back. ;-) FYI. As I write this the sun has come out and it looks much like my blip of yesterday. ;-)

This is a picture of my father taken as we sat and chatted, getting caught up. He and my mother have just returned from a winter spent in Costa Rica (and close to another brother,) where they go to escape the snow. It is so very nice to have them home!! I haven't tried many portraits but I couldn't resist trying one this morning. This image is not only a great likeness, I think it expresses a lot of who he is. Listening, attentive, curious, engaged, challenging, adventurous, caring, supportive ...my very fortunate experience of both of my parents. I will catch my mother another day. ;-) She doesn't like having her picture taken.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.