Emma Kathryn Luther

By luther

My family

This picture was taken at my sister's birthday celebration - The Wurzel's cider festival. We had a great day in fantastic sunshine.

For me this picture represents a whole lot more than just a birthday photo.

It is actually a triumph over adversity.

Our mum should be stood in the centre of this photo. The fact that she's not and we're all smiling so happily is something great in itself. But the fact we're all still smiling after losing three very dearly loved members of our family on top of that over the last five years isn't bad going in my book. Add to that the fact that each of us has had to battle with our own very challenging personal demons over the last few years and I look at this photo and see a whole lot more than a family celebrating a birthday on a gorgeous sunny day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.