Dereliction

With one grandson off to nursery and the other one at a keep fit for new mums class, I had part of the morning to wander lonely in my own little cloud along the banks of the Leeds Liverpool canal from Saltaire to Shipley. I could have chosen to veer in the opposite way towards Bingley, but I had thought to capture this old derelict building and the Bingley direction is far too scenic.

What you don't see in the frame is the goose (well I think it was goose, it certainly wasn't a duck) nesting in the doorway at the foot. It was rather a nice haven, protected from the weather under a canopy but near enough the water not to have to waddle too far.

Lunch was in the company of three young mums, with much baby and flab busting talk .There's nothing like being in such company that makes you feel your age.
But I did enjoy it, as well as the huge slice of lemon meringue pie I chose for lunch as my calorie controlled diet.
Yes you are allowed to laugh, but it is good fuel for my lifeguard duty at bathtime with the 2 year old while his mum is out at a meeting.

Now as I blip, I am baby sitting a 3 month old who is determined not to close his eyes, although his mother has hopefully closed hers and put her earplugs in for an afternoon nap. I am allowed to let him cry if necessary as long as she doesn't hear.
We'll see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.